Who ran the first marathon?

The first marathon commemorated the run of the soldier Pheidippides from a battlefield near the town of Marathon, Greece, to Athens in 490 B.C

---

In the year 490 B.C., Pheidippides ran to Athens with the news of the great victory his people had over the Persians at Marathon. The distance he ran was about 26 miles.