How does a tornado get made?

Tornadoes form, when fast moving cold air collides with warmer moist air, and conditions cause the colliding air masses to begin spinning. In the United States, these conditions are best found where cold air in the Rocky Mountains, meets warmer air moving north from the Gulf of Mexico.