Who said go west young man?

"Go West young man", is often credited to American author and newspaper editor, Horace Greeley, in 1865 concerning America's expansion westward. Though many say he was quoting John Babsone Lane Soule in an 1851 editorial in the Terre Haute Express, "Go west young man, and grow up with the country"

---

The phrase, "Go West young man", is often credited to the American author and newspaper editor Horace Greeley. It concerns America's expansion westward, related to the then popular concept of Manifest Destiny. No one has yet proven who first used this phrase in print.