What is mass flow rate?

The mass flow rate is the mass of a liquid substance passing per unit time. In other words, the mass flow rate is defined as the rate of movement of liquid pass through a unit area. The mass flow is directly dependent on the density, velocity of the liquid, and area of cross-section.