How do you take a screenshot on an imac?

To take a screenshot on your Mac (in all macOS versions): Press Shift-Command-4. Drag to select the area of the screen to capture. To move the entire selection, press and hold Space bar while dragging. After you release your mouse or trackpad button, find the screenshot on your desktop.