What is living lettuce?

'Living lettuce' is sold with a small, clean root ball still attached. This lettuce is grown on water, in special gutters or on floating platforms. ... A living lettuce can contain just one head of lettuce or it can be a mix of several types, such as Lollo Rosso, Lollo Biondo and Oakleaf.