When will betelgeuse go supernova?

The tenth brightest star in our night sky Betelgeuse is a supermassive red giant about 550 light years away. From late 2019 until February 2020 it dimmed considerably. This is thought to be due to gases ejected from the star before a supernova event that may occur sometime in the next 100000 years.

---

Betelgeuse probably won't supernova in our lifetime, but we don't know for sure. It could happen tomorrow or a million years in the future.