Who created donuts?

Originally called "oily cakes" the first records of doughnuts were in the mid-19th century when the Dutch started frying balls of cake in pork fat until golden brown. The word 'doughnut' appeared shortly after when a woman is said to have added nuts to the dough before frying it.