What causes acne on your chin?

Chin acne is quite common and typically caused by inflammation and build-up of sebum (oil), dead skin, and/or bacteria. It may be linked to an increase in hormones (androgens). Androgens stimulate sebum production which can lead to clogged pores resulting in pimples.