Why was garfield assassinated?

James A. Garfield was shot by Charles Guiteau at the Baltimore and Potomac Railroad station in Washington, DC. The motive was revenge against Garfield for an imagined political debt.

---

Garfield was assassinated by someone who was disappointed in not being offered a patronage job, that is a job based on political connections rather than merit.