Why was garfield assassinated?

Garfield was assassinated by someone who was disappointed in not being offered a patronage job, that is a job based on political connections rather than merit.

---

James A. Garfield was shot by Charles Guiteau at the Baltimore and Potomac Railroad station in Washington, DC. The motive was revenge against Garfield for an imagined political debt.