What was the world's biggest tornado?

Central Oklahoma holds the record for both the largest and the strongest tornadoes ever recorded. A tornado that touched down in El Reno, Oklahoma, on May 31, 2013, measured 2.6 miles wide at one point, easily breaking the record for the widest tornado ever observed.

---

The EF5 El Reno tornado becomes 2.6 miles wide, the largest tornado ever recorded.