Which lives longer dogs or cats?

But its solitary nature may be the key to its long life, say scientists. In the battle of cats and dogs, cats clock up an average age of 15 compared with a dog's 12-year lifespan. This bucks the general rule of the animal kingdom that the larger a creature is the longer it lives.