Does putting a lid on a pot make it boil faster?

Yes putting a lid on a pot definitely makes it boil faster. Without a lid the evaporation of the water as it is heating cools it. Putting a lid on traps the moisture and slows the evaporation. It takes a lot of heat to evaporate water.