Do turtles breathe out of their bum?

Respiratory System. Turtles breathe air through external nares located above their mouths. Air moves through the glottis and into the trachea, made of a series of rings of cartilage. A turtle's trachea is elongated and flexible, allowing the turtle to move his head in and out of his shell.