How long is a day in grand theft auto five?

A day in GTA 5 takes about 48 real-life minutes, and saving the game will advance the game clock differently for different characters. When Michael goes to bed in order to save the game, it advances the game clock by 6 hours; 8 hours for Franklin, and Trevor sleeping the longest for 12 hours.