What's the closest universe to the milky way?

Most people consider the Andromeda Galaxy to be our closest galactic cohabitant. But Andromeda is the closest spiral galaxy, not the closest galaxy . This distinction falls to a formation that is within the Milky Way itself, a dwarf galaxy that we’ve only known about for a little over a decade.