Why are graves six feet deep?

The phrase is obsolete; depth actually varies by culture and region. Some graves are as deep as 12 feet to allow for additional family members, while others are as shallow as 2 feet from the surface, as is standard for natural burials that shroud the body in cloth and forgo a casket.