How do you take a screenshot on a computer?

On a Windows computer, you can hold the Windows key (between control and alt) down, and press the "print screen" key, usually found next to the F12 key. Or, go to Start, Windows Accessories, then select "Snipping Tool". It will start a screen cap program that lets you choose exactly what to capture.