How many blocks do you need to make another portal?

A minimum of 10 obsidian blocks are required to build it, though most people use 14 as it looks better. A Nether portal is build by placing the obsidian blocks in a 5×4 rectangle. The corners can be left out, which saves you 4 pieces of obsidian.