What was the battleship arizona?

The USS Arizona was a 31,400 ton Pennsylvania class battleship commissioned in October 1916. It sank during the Japanese attack on the naval base at Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, on December 7, 1941. More than 1,170 crewmen were killed. The Arizona is commemorated by a memorial that spans the wreckage.