Who was the first woman to win an olympic gold medal?

The first female to compete at the Olympics and the first female Olympic medalist was Hélène de Pourtalès. Although England's Charlotte Cooper is commonly listed, Hélène won on May 22, 1900, and Charlotte won on July 11, 1900.