What is the difference between a major and a minor scale?

The order of whole & half steps from root note. In major scales the order is whole-whole-half-whole-whole-whole-half. In natural minor scales it's whole-half-whole-whole-half-whole-whole. Harmonic minor raises the 7th a half. Melodic minor raises 6th & 7th a half ascending & 7th only descending.