What happens if you put wax paper in the oven?

Wax paper has a thin coating of wax on each side, which prevents food from sticking to it and makes it moisture-resistant. But wax paper is not heat-resistant; the wax will melt at high temperatures and the paper itself can catch on fire so Don't use wax paper on cake pans or put it in a hot oven.