Why do tree frogs croak?

According to thesprucepets.com: The main reason why a frog croaks is to attract a mate. Male frogs croak to get the attention of a female frog, even if they don't see or hear one. Croaking is an innate behavior and is especially common during a frog's mating season in the spring after it rains..