Where does mind your p.'s and q.'s come from?

Mind your Ps and Qs is an English language expression meaning "mind your manners". The Oxford English dictionary says the origins could have been from the first is in a poem by Charles Churchill, published in 1763: “And to instruct him how to use , His As and Bs, and Ps and Qs.”