Can you substitute cake flour for regular flour?

For some recipes you can substitute cake flour for regular all purpose flour. It depends on what you are trying to make. Because it has a lower protein content than all purpose flour, it will give the recipe a different texture, and it will not be as effective for thickening sauces.