Where do ticks live?

Ticks live close to their hosts. This includes dog, cats, rodents, birds, deer and unfortunately, humans. Contrary to popular belief, ticks don't live on their hosts. They are typically found outdoors, in wooded or grassy areas, where they attach to their host and begin to feed.