What is the history of williamsburg virginia?

In 1699, the capital of Virginia colony was relocated from Jamestown to Middle Plantation, five miles inland between the James and the York Rivers. It was renamed Williamsburg in honor of England's King William III. Williamsburg was one of America's first planned cities.