What are school crawlers?

Scullcrawlers are large reptilian creatures that appeared in the film, Kong : Scull Island. They are described as having two long forelimbs, no hind limbs, as well as long prehensile, serpentine tails. Several aspects of their appearance are noticeably skeletal, particularly their torsos and heads.