When did broccoli become popular in the united states?

It wasn't until the mid 1940s, after intense marketing campaigns by broccoli distributors, that it gained recognition among non-Italians in the U.S. (Italians brought broccoli with them in the 1920s) and it did not become popular until the 1960s when it gained credibility with the Hippie movement.