Does chewing gum cause gas?

Chewing gum can make you gassy. The older you get, the gassier you’ll become. As the years go by, your digestive system slows down. You may get constipated, and being backed up can make you gassy. Some laxatives that help with constipation can cause gas, like ones that contain bran.