How long should a hot dog be boiled?

Hot dogs are fully cooked when purchased and do not need to be boiled, only heated to the diner's taste. Try putting them in a pan with no more than a quarter inch of water. Heat until very steamy. Some hot dogs will swell greatly and split open if boiled.