What is a violent thunderstorm?

The power of a thunderstorm is measured by the velocity of the winds in the storm. The faster the winds the more violent the storm. A thirty MPH wind ruffles the leaves. A hundred MPH wind damages or destroys structures. Wind speeds can exceed a hundred and fifty MPH in a Tornado or Hurricane