What happened after the big bang?

As space expanded, the universe cooled & matter formed.One second after the Big Bang,the universe was filled with neutrons,protons,electrons,anti-electrons,photons & neutrinos.However,after this point,the universe was plunged into darkness, since no stars or any other bright objects had formed yet