How did the drummer from def leppard lose his arm?

Rick Allen, the drummer from the rock band Def Leppard, had his left arm amputated in 1984 after injuries sustained in a car accident. The arm was severed in the accident, and doctors initially reattached it, but it became infected and ultimately had to be removed again.