How did ice tea get his name?

There are conflicting stories of how ice-T got his name. But, essentially the "T" is for Terrance (his name) and the Ice comes from either a threat to stuff him in a refrigerator until he was ice cold, because of the coolness of his rhymes, or in homage to a "poet" who shared the name "ice."