Are coffee beans a fruit?

The coffee cherry is a fruit, but the coffee bean itself is just a part of the fruit. The coffee cherry has a hard and bitter skin with juicy and sweet flesh on the inside. Coffee beans are seeds, and the coffee cherries they produce are fruits.