Is kai a word?

Kai is a Japanese word that has been integrated into parts of the US that have large populations of Pacific cultures. The word has many meanings: ocean, shell, restoration, recovery. In Hawaii, it is often used as Ocean (e.g. ma kai means "towards the ocean"). In Maori, kai means "a meal."