What is a school of fish?

A group of fish is called a school of fish. Most fish tend to swim in groups to protect themselves from predators. The collective noun which denotes such a group depends on the species of the fish in the group, as seen in the terms a troop of dogfish, a swarm of eels and a glide of flying fish.