What does c. e. mean in a year?

C.E. means "Common Era" and was chosen to replace A.D., which stands for the Latin phrase anno Domini, which means “in the year of the Lord.” B.C. stands for "before Christ." People that wanted a term that did not have religious ties decided on C.E. for Common Era and B.C.E, Before Common Era.