Who wrote michael row the boat ashore?

Charles Pickard Ware, an abolitionist who supervised the plantations on St. Helena Island, South Carolina, wrote down the African-American spiritual song as he heard the freedmen sing it during the American Civil War. It was published in 1867 in Slave Songs of the United States.