What is quilla extract?

Quillaia extract is obtained by aqueous extraction of the milled inner bark or wood of Quillaja saponaria Molina, or other Quillaja species, trees of the family Rosaceae. It contains a number of triterpenoid saponins consisting of glycosides of quillaic acid.