Who directed the nineteen eighty two movie the thing?

John Carpenter

---

John Carpenter directed the 1982 version of The Thing, known as "John Carpenter's The Thing", about a research team in Antarctica hunted by a shape-shifting alien. It is very different from the 1951 movie "The Thing From Another World", commonly known as simply "The Thing" directed by Howard Hawks.