Why did steve perry quit singing?

Since leaving Journey due to a hip injury that prevented him from touring, Perry has been surprisingly absent. The band replaced Perry with a soundalike named Steve Augeri and launched a tour. In 2008, Arnel Pineda took over on vocals and the group sells as many tickets as it did in its 80s heyday.