Who is the first proteam to play on artificial turf?

Houston Oilers Houston Astros. The first pro football team to play on artificial turf was the Houston Oilers, part of the American Football League, who moved into the Astrodome in 1968, which had installed AstroTurf two years prior. Houston Astros were the first baseball team on artificial turf.