What is a cape cod style house?

A Cape Cod house is a low, broad, single-story frame building with a moderately steep pitched roof, a large central chimney, and very little ornamentation. Originating in New England in the 17th century, the simple symmetrical design was designed to withstand the stormy, stark weather of Cape Cod.