What's the difference between a slug and a snail?

Snails and slugs are both part of the same class of creatures called gastropods. ... The most obvious difference between snails and slugs is the fact that snails have shells. A snail's shell is like a home it carries around on its back. Slugs, on the other hand, have no shell.