Why do firemen have dalmatians?

Early firetrucks were horse-drawn. Dalmatians have been used with coach horses since their development as a breed. They keep the horses calm and protect them from other loose dogs who want to chase the horses and nip at their hooves. Plus Dalmatians are handsome dogs that look good with red trucks.