How fast can a sailboat go?

Most sailboats cruise at a speed of 4-6 knots (4.5-7 mph), with a top speed of 7 knots. Larger racing yachts can easily reach speeds up to 15 knots, with an average cruising speed between 6-8 knots (7-9 mph). Cruising speeds of over 8 knots are uncommon.