What kind of creature is godzilla?

according to fandom dot com,Godzilla (ゴジラ, Gojira), known as the King of the Monsters, is a giant nuclear enhanced prehistoric amphibious reptile (origins may vary) who is the star of the popular Godzilla franchise of films produced by Toho Company, Ltd.